Skip to main content

You too can support Hugues!

Hugues Falys is a farmer in the Belgian province of Hainaut. He has been growing cereals, protein crops, vegetables and strawberries there since 1993, and raises around a hundred Charolais cows for organic meat production. 

Like most farmers, Hugues is suffering from the impacts of climate change: heatwaves, droughts, but also extreme rainfall. 

The consequences? Unproductive or even ruined crops and meadows, significant financial losses, animals suffering from heat stress, as well as extra workload and major stress linked to growing climate unpredictability.


Why a case against TotalEnergies?

After many years of suffering the effects of climate change on his farm, Hugues has decided to take legal action against one of the multinationals causing them: TotalEnergies. It is a first in Belgium! 

Coal, oil and gas companies are by far the biggest contributors to climate change, with fossil fuels accounting for over 75% of greenhouse gas emissions.


The problem? 

All too often, these companies evade responsibility and all constraints in terms of climate regulation. As for governments, they are struggling to adopt sufficiently strong legislation to effectively protect the environment, climate and public health considering the enormous economic and political power of those private actors.

Who is paying the price? Hugues, farmers, all of us – in Belgium and elsewhere.  


3 objectives

This legal action has three objectives.

This action concern us all

Climate change is already a real threat to the Belgian population’s right to life. A number of extreme weather events in Belgium in recent years serve as stark reminders that this is not a distant concern but an immediate one. It significantly impacts the fundamental rights of various segments of the population, ranging from farmers and the elderly to residents vulnerable to flooding. The images of the floods that hit Belgium in July 2021 are still fresh in everyone’s mind. 

This action also highlights the impact of climate change on our food sovereignty, i.e. our ability to produce quality food locally. Hugues’ case is far from isolated, and shows the challenges facing farmers in the face of an increase in the frequency and intensity of extreme weather events.

Skip to main content

Jamais une entreprise ne s’est retrouvée devant les tribunaux belges pour sa responsabilité dans le dérèglement climatique.


Vous aussi, soutenez Hugues !

Hugues Falys est un paysan-agriculteur du Hainaut. Il y cultive depuis 1993 des céréales, des protéagineux, des légumes, des fraises et il élève une centaine de vaches de race charolaise pour la production de viande bio.

Comme la majorité des agriculteur·rices, Hugues subit les conséquences du dérèglement climatique : vagues de chaleur, sécheresses, précipitations extrêmes.

Conséquences ? Des cultures et prairies endommagées voire improductives, des pertes financières importantes, des animaux souffrant de stress thermique ainsi qu’un surcroît de travail et un stress important lié à l’imprévisibilité croissante du climat et donc de l’organisation du travail.


Pourquoi cette action contre TotalEnergies ?

Alors qu’il subit les effets du dérèglement climatique sur sa ferme depuis plusieurs années, Hugues a décidé de poursuivre en justice l’une des multinationales qui est à l’origine des problèmes sur sa ferme : TotalEnergies. C’est une première en Belgique ! 

Les entreprises du charbon, du pétrole et du gaz sont de loin les principales responsables du dérèglement climatique, puisque les combustions fossiles sont responsables de plus de 75 % des émissions de gaz à effet de serre. 


Le problème ? 

Ces entreprises échappent trop souvent à leur responsabilité et à toutes contraintes en matière climatique. Quant aux États, ils peinent à adopter des législations suffisamment fortes qui puissent protéger efficacement l’environnement, le climat, la santé publique. 

Qui en paie le prix ? Hugues, les agriculteur·rices, nous tou·tes, ici en Belgique et ailleurs.  

Quels sont les objectifs de l’action ?

Cette action en justice poursuit trois objectifs

Une affaire qui nous concerne tou·tes

Le dérèglement climatique constitue déjà une menace réelle pour le droit à la vie de la population belge. Plusieurs évènements climatiques extrêmes survenus en Belgique ces dernières années sont venus nous rappeler que ce n’était pas une crise passagère et lointaine mais que le dérèglement climatique touche déjà notre pays, aujourd’hui. 

Cette action met également en évidence les impacts du dérèglement climatique sur notre souveraineté alimentaire, c’est-à-dire notre capacité à produire localement une alimentation de qualité. Le cas de Hugues est en effet loin d’être isolé et montre les défis auxquels le monde paysan est confronté face à l’augmentation de la fréquence et de l’intensité des événements climatiques extrêmes.